Pioneer names new Acting Superintendent during special meeting

The Board of Education of Pioneer Schools met for a special meeting on July 28.  Present for the meeting were Melissa Nocera-Collins (Board President), Edward McCarthy (Board Vice-President), Angela Wiseman, Darla Schwab, Denise Urbino, Linda Rule, and Mark Kless; Members absent:  Justin Baker and Wendy Warner-Regan.   The Board entered executive session at 5:31 p.m. and exited executive session at […]

Exploring school safety at Pioneer

On July 6, 2022, Pioneer Central Schools announced that an additional School Resource Officer (SRO) was coming to the District. The announcement, posted as an article titled “New School Resource Officer Added” on Pioneer’s website stated, “Pioneer School District is taking steps to make its students, staff and facilities more safe.  A big part of that initiative is past, current […]

Pioneer Board of Ed elects officers, approves committees for ‘22-23 school year

The Annual Reorganizational meeting of the Pioneer Board of Education was called to order at 5:30 p.m. on July 12, 2022.  Present for the meeting were Board Members Melissa Nocera-Collins, Ed McCarthy, Linda Rule, Darla Schwab, Angela Wiseman, Denise Urbino, Justin Baker, Wendy Warner Regan, and new Board Member Mark Kless.   First on the agenda was the Administration of […]

Pioneer Central School District participating in Summer Food Service Program

The Yorkshire-Pioneer Central School District is participating in the Summer Food Service Program. Lunches will be provided to all children 18 years of age and under without charge. Acceptance and participation requirements for the program and all activities are the same for all children regardless of race, color, national origin, gender, age or disability. And there will be no discrimination […]

Pioneer holds Achievement Night

Ninety individual students were recognized at the 2022 Achievement Night, held June 8, 2022 at Pioneer High School. Among the students honored were 65 seniors and 25 juniors. Forty-five organizations, businesses or individuals donated designated scholarships. The high school Scholarship Committee allocated $29,500. Over $50,000 was allocated through community organizations and businesses. Finally, $1.4 million in college tuition and expenses […]

Brief update regarding special meeting of Pioneer BOE 

The Pioneer Board of Education met in a special session on Wednesday, June 29, 2022.  This meeting, which was closed to the public, lasted more than three hours (per journalist Barbara O’Brien of the Buffalo News),  and was held as an executive session to discuss “the potential hire of a particular person(s)” and “the potential discipline of a particular person(s).” […]

8 Franklinville graduates receive CRCF-managed scholarship awards

Eight recent Ten Broeck Academy/Franklinville Central School graduates recently received scholarship awards managed by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation. Cayden Hatch and Alexandria Ross each received the Walter F. and Julia A. Dziekonski Scholarship for $2,500. The scholarship, part of the Ten Broeck Academy and Franklinville Central School District Fund, is awarded to two graduates annually, one male and one […]

No discussion on continued administrative leaves of absences at Pioneer Board of Education meeting

The Pioneer Central School Board of Education met on June 21, 2022 for their regular meeting.  The meeting was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Board President Melissa Nocera-Collins.  The following board members were present for the meeting:  Ed McCarthy, Mary Lou Merlau, Linda Rule, Darla Schwab, Angela Wiseman, Denise Urbino, Justin Baker, and Wendy Warner Regan.  Noticeably absent […]

Holland Central School board sets department chairs for ‘22 – ‘23 school year

The Holland Central School’s Board of Education met for their monthly meeting on Monday, May 23. The meeting consisted of all the usual monthly items such as budgeting and personnel changes, but also included multiple awards and approvals for logistics for next school year.  During the month of May, the budget vote passed with 113 yes votes and 60 no […]

Franklinville honors spring athletic awardees

On June 13, Ten Broeck Academy of Franklinville and Pete Spear, the Panthers’ Athletic Director, hosted the annual Spring Sports Awards Night for the Spring ’22 athletes. For baseball, Beau Bielecki received the MVP. Isaac Towne was named Offensive Player of the Year and Noah Shenk was named Defensive Player of the Year. Blake Frank received the Cy Young Award […]

Category Pages are limited to 90 days. Please use the archive page or the search box to find older articles.